Year 5 summary

Term 1 at Carey this year has been awesome! I have learnt so much this term.

At the start of the term we had a maths test, a few questions were very tricky and I couldn’t do them. the lattice method and short division are my favourite strategies so far. We had to do the same maths test again at the end of the term after we had learnt all the strategies. I did so much better this time because I had learnt all the strategies to help me. We also learnt about area and perimeter. We got to design our own garden using area and perimeter.

in art we learnt about cross hatching and hatching. We drew portraits of ourselves and put hatching and cross hating in to create shade.

In APS we did three different sports. We did swimming,bike riding and rock climbing. My favourite was rock climbing. We also did a triathlon that involved swimming, bike riding and running.

In Chinese I learnt SO much more words. I like learning Chinese so if I go to China I can speak their language.

for my first excursion we went to queen Victoria market (QVM) we learn lots of stuff like when the food was delivered, when the market was opened and how they got the food in. Our tour guide knew lots of things about the market and she was very funny. We also got to bring ten dollars to buy something from the market!

I have had so much fun this term. I have made so many new friends and they are very funny and help me fit in. In the first week I was a bit nervous but once I had made some friends I felt like I was part of Carey. I don’t feel like a new kid anymore, I feel like I’m a Carey kid now.

Now I am looking forward term two and seeing all my friends again.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *